Monday, November 14, 2011

Top Honours for Indian Rupee

The Prithviraj-starrer edges past Traffic to take the top prize of the prestigious Vayalar Rama Varma Chalachitra Award 2011

While most of the country was engrossed in the F1 Grand Prix, down south, Ranjith's Indian Rupee raced past Rajesh Pillai's Traffic to sweep all top prizes of the Vayalar Rama Varma Chalachitra Award 2011 including the best film, actor and director.

Prithviraj was adjudged the top actor for his performance in Indian Rupee and Urumi, and young lass Remya Nambeesan was chosen as the best actress for her bold roles in Traffic and Chappa Kurishu.

"It's a token of appreciation for her bold approach as an actress in Mollywood," says jury member and director Sohanlal, adding that Indian Rupee was chosen for its social relevance and the strong message it delivered to today's youth.

In a sign of changing times, the list of winners for this year's edition saw a lot of new faces clinch top honours. Villian-turned-comedian Baburaj and Ananya bagged the awards for the best supporting actor and actress category for their performances in Salt 'N' Pepper and Seniors respectively.

Traffic and Chappa Kurishu, both produced by Listin Stephen, too won awards, with the former being chosen as the second best movie and Samir Tahir being honoured for the best directorial debut.

"The award list reflects the present scenario in Mollywood and this was also the reason why Listin Stephen was given a special award for his innovation in the field," says Sohanlal.

Actor Thilakan was awarded the Vayalar Chalachitra Ratna Award for the accomplishments in his stellar career while MG Radhakrishnan was posthumously chosen for the Vayalar Gana Ratna award.

A strange decision though was choosing actor Fahad Fazil as the best newcomer, when in fact he made his debut in 2002 with Kaiyethum Doorathu.

Though movies that were released in the last one year were under consideration for the awards, critically-acclaimed hits such as Blessy's Pranayam and Kamal's Gaddhama remained conspicuous as they did not submit for the same.

No comments:

Post a Comment